Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Having Chins at College  (Read 3147 times)

brown8sm

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Having Chins at College
« on: February 20, 2007, 10:29:23 AM »

I am a college student and I was just looking at getting a chinchilla.  I'm at school for 9 monthes and then back home for 3.  Will this moving be too hard on the chinchilla or will he be able to adapt to his new surroundings since I am in each place for an extended period of time?

Sweetnessheart

• Appreciation points: 7
    • View Profile
    • 4 J's Plantation
Re: Having Chins at College
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 11:52:01 AM »

Personally, I think your chinchilla would be okay with the moving, but I don't know about college life.
Do you live in a dorm?  I know the dorm I lived in wasn't a place I would want a high strung critter.  Chinchillas basically need to be kept at an even keel.  They don't like loud noises or a lot of people in and out.   
I would think long and hard about a chinchilla as a pet, especially being in a school atmosphere.

For example: 
I had friends that got a kitten in a dorm room.  The poor kitten was paranoid its whole life.  It never turned out to be a loving cuddly cat.
Janice and Jim
http://www.4jsplantation.com

ECBC V-Pres. - Southeast Unit of Ohio Branch

brown8sm

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2007, 04:34:18 PM »