Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Scared Chinchilla ?  (Read 4069 times)

Zee12

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Scared Chinchilla ?
« on: September 23, 2007, 09:55:58 AM »

Hey, I'm new to this whole chinchillas thing but I wanted toask a question. Yesterday I got 2 chinchillas, 1ebony female and 1 mosaic female. I put them in a cage upstairs in my room and they're only 5 months old. I am wondering why do they frantically jump around when i try to touch them. I need advice because I don't think theyu're used to me yet. Does your chinchilla do this or is it just mine ?
~1 Ebony and 1 Mosaic :)

Zee12

• View Profile
Re: Scared Chinchilla ?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2007, 10:05:38 AM »

Pleasse I really need help on this, respond if you know.
Thank youu.   ;D

Abby W.

• Appreciation points: 6
    • View Profile
    • Virginia Chinchillas
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2007, 11:06:50 AM »

Chinchillas take time to get to know and trust their owners.  You wouldn't want a stranger touching you, right?

The key to gaining their trust is time and patience.  Don't try to pick them up at first, just sit with them, talk to them so they get to know your voice.  You can open the cage door and lay your hand in there to let them sniff you and get to know your smell, but let them do it on their own terms.  If you try to force them to accept you before they are ready it will only scare them, and it will take that much longer for them to feel bonded to you.  You can butter them up a bit by offering a small raisin or piece of papaya, but only one per day.  Their digestive systems are very sensitive and can't be overloaded with treats. 

If you are patient and gentle with them, in time, they will come to trust you and will feel comfortable being scratched or held by you.

Zee12

• View Profile