Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New Owner In Need Of Advice  (Read 3078 times)

Charlie330

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
New Owner In Need Of Advice
« on: September 12, 2007, 03:01:20 PM »

I recently rescued a 6-8 month old Chinchilla from a couple in a nearby city that were incapable of providing it the proper care it needed. They had a 2 year old daughter that, from what I could tell, would terrorize the poor guy; not to mention that they had a very demanding schedule and very rarely would give him the chance to play outside of his cage and for this reason, they put up the ad. This is my first time owning and being responsible for the care of one and was hoping for a little advice on well, just about everything.

As I said, I rescued him from a state that was nowhere near ideal. The change in owners and location, however, doesn't seem to have caused him much stress, but then again, I am still very new at this. They had been using Red Cedar bedding which I immediately changed to recycled paper, they also had been feeding him grapes as treats, which I switched to raisins. I provide him with Alfalfa based pellets and Timothy Hay daily, as well as change his water. Also, I give him a treat when I change his food and one to lure him out for play time. I hold my hand out facing up with the raisin on my forearm near my elbow joint so that he has to stand fully on my hand to get to it. I'm trying to bond him to me and I'm worried that his psyche might have been damaged due to his prior living conditions, although he is still quite young. His former owners said he was anywhere from 6-8 months old.