Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Developing your eye  (Read 8604 times)

hope

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Developing your eye
« on: October 26, 2006, 07:09:13 AM »

I am a novice at showing but watched at the shows I could get to for a couple of years & am enjoying developing my eye & learning all I can.
I am wondering if those who have shown for a while can tell me how long it takes to fully develop your eye & have the ability yourself to know which chin best compliments the other?

chinclub

• Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 66
    • View Profile
    • Lowcountry Chinchillas
Re: Developing your eye
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2006, 07:36:06 AM »

Oh my, it seemed to take me forever!!  I have a great mentor (which I think is a must for every breeder).  He has been breeding for almost 20 years and when we first started he would pretty much put together my runs for me.  Every time we would vist he would pull out two chinchillas and ask me which was better and every time I would pick the wrong one!!  Eventually I got it though.  I took several years of his teaching plus careful watch at shows but I finally got it.  I think half of the fun of shows is to try to pick the best 2 or 3 on the table before the judge then see if you are right.  Its a great test.

Even once you get the idea it can still be hard.  Once it got easy to look at groomed chinchillas in prime and tell who was best, I had to move on to judging non-groomed chinchillas out of prime.  That gets tricky.  Its important to know because you will probably not always be buying 7-8 month old chinchillas.  Proven breeders will have out of shape fur and you will need to have some idea as to what they could look like in perfect shape to know if they are right for your breeding program.

Lowcountry Chinchillas