Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Stones  (Read 2092 times)

Herbert

• Appreciation points: 0
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
Stones
« on: January 19, 2016, 04:17:00 PM »

A little bit ago I thought that one of my chins may have a UTI he went through a round of meds and is still having some blood in his urine.  Finally got a decent size sample and brought it to my vet she tested it and didn't find any bacteria, white or red blood cells so she suggested that I bring him in for an x-ray and he may have stones and if he does he's going to need surgery.  Has anyone dealt with this before?

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: Stones
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 09:06:28 PM »

I hope someone who is more experienced will comment. I think an x-ray is going to be warranted.
I'd hope the vet checked but have you ruled out a hair ring?
I'm a programmer not a chinchilla breeder. I learn by asking questions just like you.

Herbert

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2016, 12:49:18 PM »

Is a hair ring something that would be visible to the naked eye? I looked and didn't see one...so it came back he's got no stones so it's a possibility that it would be a polyp somewhere in his penis but she's not certian and there's no way of really being able to get a scope and see becaue he's so small. She also mentioned it could be from his diet..I read somewhere that brown to red colour urine could indicate diabetes, ever hear of that? I'm going to call back and ask.

Herbert

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2016, 01:47:20 PM »