Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Chinchilla safe wood-dyes and paints for chews?  (Read 1087 times)

Snickerdoodle

• Appreciation points: 0
  • # of Chins: 1
    • View Profile
Chinchilla safe wood-dyes and paints for chews?
« on: October 20, 2015, 01:27:23 PM »

My girlfriend recently adopted a chinchilla (now named Totoro) after doing a lot of research on them. They're very different from the other rodents she's owned, but she loves him.

Anyway, I'm a hobbyist. I'd like to make Totoro some chews. Whenever I finally come across some wood that they can chew without being detrimental to their health (my backyard is full of oak so that's a no go), what can I use to color the chew, if possible? I've seen some recommendation for food coloring for making colored rodent chews, but I was curious of your take on this.

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: Chinchilla safe wood-dyes and paints for chews?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2015, 02:03:55 PM »

A lot of people recommend vegetable based dye. Personally I have nothing against regular food dye that is safe for people. The only thing you have to watch for is if the wood gets urine or water on it because it can stain anything and everything. Personally I don't use dye but sometimes the toys I buy might have dye in them. Some owners even boil their chews in fruit or vegetable formulations but I think that is bad idea because spoilage can be extremely dangerous. My chins certainy don't need any coaxing to chew on wood.