Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rose Hips  (Read 991 times)

Herbert

• Appreciation points: 0
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
Rose Hips
« on: September 25, 2015, 04:56:25 AM »

Hi,

What's your opinion on feeding chins rose hips that I picked out at my cottage but they are not dried yet.  Should they only be fed dried rose hips?

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: Rose Hips
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 05:33:57 AM »

I was given some rose hips by Spot's breeder. I give them to my chinchillas on rare occasions and have not had any trouble with them. They are considered to be a safe treat but they must be properly dried. I would not give them anything that isn't dried.
I'm a programmer not a chinchilla breeder. I learn by asking questions just like you.

BLS Chins

• Global Moderator
  • Appreciation points: 103
  • # of Chins: 35ish
    • View Profile
    • BLS Chins
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 08:12:58 AM »

Rose hips make great treats but like any other treat must be given in moderation
BLS Chins
Hobby breeder and rescue in south central pa
specializing in ebony, tan, goldbar, standard and black velvets

Herbert

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 11:29:10 AM »

Do you know why things have to be dried before we can give them to chins?  I just like to understand why I do things

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 02:35:06 PM »