Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My chinchilla jumped from the top of his cage -- HELP!  (Read 1629 times)

Dex21

• Appreciation points: 1
  • # of Chins: 1
    • View Profile
My chinchilla jumped from the top of his cage -- HELP!
« on: June 22, 2015, 02:26:27 PM »

Hey guys!  I am new to owning a chinchilla (I got my little buddy, Dex, about 2 months ago) so he is only about 8 months old now.  I have one of those 4-story cages (roughly about 6 feet tall) and he loves to hangout on the very top of the cage (I put a blanket over it to both give him some darkness inside as well as protect his feet when he is on top).  Though last night he was very antsy and looked over the end of the top of the cage, and then fell.  At first he hid under the cage for about 5 minutes (he seemed scared/shocked), however after that he was running around and acting like his crazy self.  Today he seemed okay, however small noises would make him flee quickly (though he is normally like this in the morning).  He woke up for about 30 minutes this morning and was crawling on my arms, however he was not climbing the way he normally does.  He seemed a bit more 'cautious' and seemed to be digging his paws into my arms (sort of like what they do in a dust bath before cleaning themselves).  It seems like he was just trying to get a grip on my arms, but he has climbed my arm a hundred times and has never done anything like this.  Other than this he seems fine, but I am honestly a bit worried that he might have hurt himself.  Could someone please assist me with this issue and what I can do to make sure he is okay (before taking him to the vet to get checked out, if need be)?  Thank you so much guys!

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile