Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help! Dangerously Picky New Chin!  (Read 1377 times)

LeapingLechuga

• Appreciation points: 1
  • # of Chins: 1
    • View Profile
Help! Dangerously Picky New Chin!
« on: February 07, 2015, 09:06:13 AM »

We recently took in a chin that was abandoned at the clinic I work at (I'm a licensed vet tech) because she had a hurt leg. It ended up being a tourniquet injury and we had to remove the leg. She is through her post op treatments and pooping up a storm (yay!) but we seem to have a persistant problem. I don't have any contact information from whoever dropped her off, so I have no idea how old she is or what she was used to eating. Since we have had her she has never really eaten well. She will eat the oxbow pellets we bought her but she is not eating enough to maintain her weight. She's losing pretty steadily and we're looking for any suggestions from seasoned members with picky eaters. We tried a different brand last night mixed in with her normal food but it doesn't seem to help matters. We are supplementing with critical care feedings but we really need to get her eating on her own!

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: Help! Dangerously Picky New Chin!
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 09:16:43 AM »