Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to the Forum!  (Read 2262 times)

LeapingLechuga

• Appreciation points: 1
  • # of Chins: 1
    • View Profile
New to the Forum!
« on: January 25, 2015, 02:05:47 PM »

I just wanted to say hello to everyone! I am not only new to the forum but also new to chinchillas. I recently took in a female chinchilla who was dropped off at the clinic where I work because she sustained a tourniquet injury to her back leg and her owner was not willing to pay to have her treated. She was left with no name or possessions (not even a carrier). So we have no idea how old she is but she seems to be a young fully grown adult. We have named her Scarlett (and we just adore her) and since I am a vet tech I am thankfully able to keep up with her bandage changes. Hopefully she will not have to have it amputated. But I wanted to introduce myself since I see lots of questions in my future   :)

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: New to the Forum!
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2015, 06:40:52 AM »

Welcome to the boards and congrats on your new pet. I'd be glad to answer any questions you may have. There are also experienced breeders and owners who frequent the boards. I am curious what caused the injury. Was it something in the cage?

I just want to give you a little advice going in. You may already know this but this is a good place to post this information since it's been a while since I've posted this information:

- Chinchilla cages must be of all metal construction. No plastic trays or accessories.
- Cages must NEVER contain wire ramps or shelves. (even solid ramps should not be used in chin cages)
- Never use wire hay balls with chinchillas.