Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: question about pine shelves  (Read 833 times)

mb30

• Appreciation points: 36
    • View Profile
question about pine shelves
« on: May 12, 2014, 11:41:40 AM »

Out of curiosity, how often do you change/clean/sand them down?

I seem to sand all the shelves down once or twice a month to get rid of staining.

I used to just buy new shelves since they are cheap enough but i figured id just buy a detail sander and do that until they need to be replaced.

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: question about pine shelves
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 11:57:48 AM »

My veterinarian said they should be changed once a year.
I'm a programmer not a chinchilla breeder. I learn by asking questions just like you.

kageri

• Appreciation points: 44
  • # of Chins: 10
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2014, 12:26:41 PM »

I've just been sweeping the poop off.  They never pee on mine and with their poop at proper consistency it doesn't stain either.  It's no different than the houses I have which have been in use for several years.  I have new houses and a mountable house with platform coming but I have no plan to replace the current houses yet.  These will go in cages that still have plastic shelves or cheap petstore houses that barely fit a chin and flip easily from the cheap, light material.  I do need to pull a couple nails that have become visible on 2 houses we have.  We only have the tools to make plain board shelves so I have to order the houses and fancier shelves.