Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: How much hay should my chin be eating?  (Read 3646 times)

Heoke

• Appreciation points: 0
  • # of Chins: 1
    • View Profile
How much hay should my chin be eating?
« on: January 23, 2014, 05:23:52 PM »

Hello all!

I am a new chin owner (I've had him for about 4 months) and I just have a question about how much hay he should be eating? He does eat his hay, because I have seen him do it, and he is in good health, I just worry he isn't eating as much as he should. I know it is hard to judge these things, but as he is a young chin and I am a novice chin mom, any advice you could give me would be great.

Thanks! :)

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: How much hay should my chin be eating?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 06:57:39 PM »

I know the exact amount will depend on the size of your pet and the quality of both the hay and pellets. Both should be constantly available to your pet. My chinchilla is around 510g and eats about two tablespoons worth of pellets each day. He also eats about a small handful of timothy hay each day. The hay is a bit subjective because he tramples about 1/3 of it through the wire mesh floor I keep the hay on and his pellet consumption seems to be more constant day to day.

Decent pellets are typically alfalfa based and should have no fruits, nuts, or treats mixed in. Treats should be limited to two raisins per day or equivalent volume of dried fruit. Chinchillas should never be given meat, nuts, vegetables, fresh fruits or berries. These things can be very poisonous.