Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Kulu Chinchilla's Cage  (Read 5382 times)

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Kulu Chinchilla's Cage
« on: March 14, 2013, 03:52:27 PM »

I've been wanting to make this post for a while but I have been making a lot of modifications to my cage. I think it's pretty much done now. I used to use a generic and somewhat small Super Pet cage but I exchanged it for a super big pet cage!
This comes after I did a nice slide show for my relatives to show them what I've been working on.
I'm a programmer not a chinchilla breeder. I learn by asking questions just like you.

GrayRodent

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: Kulu Chinchilla's Cage
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 08:08:39 PM »

The cage was originally made for large parrots such as macaws. The floor was not safe for a chinchilla but it came out easily in one panel. I originally replaced it wire mesh but the steel tubing made it difficult to install resulting in gaps around the edges. This eventually resulted in injuring my extremely active second chinchilla when he got a toe through it. Thankfully the injury healed on its own.

The attached diagram shows the new design. There are three wood panels and one of the panels is fitted with wire mesh. It has turned out to be a decent compromise as long as I sweep the floor each morning.