Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: thinking about getting 2 chins!  (Read 2734 times)

Chim-Char

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
thinking about getting 2 chins!
« on: March 23, 2012, 10:11:10 PM »

I am considering getting 2 chins but I am looking at prices right now and trying to find the least expensive way to get one without risking the health of the chins since i am a college student. What is the difference between getting a baby chin and maybe an older chin or rescuing or adopting one? Are they still as friendly? I would love a baby chin but since the prices are like 135 for 1 chin..i can't really do that.
Thanks!
Chim-Char

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: thinking about getting 2 chins!
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2012, 06:47:47 AM »

If you want a chin that has the greatest chances of being healthy you might want to see if you can find a local reputable breeder. Getting a baby will give you the greatest chance of it growing up to be friendly towards you. Chins tend to do better alone so you don't have to get two.

It is not uncommon for older ones to show up on classified ads like craigslist. The biggest advantage is that you can usually get the cage setup with the chin for very cheap. Just make sure it's an all-metal cage or you really should get one. Plastic cages can be chewed and the pieces can cause bowel obstructions.