Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: pregnant chinchilla,only had her a week  (Read 3182 times)

marchevie123

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
pregnant chinchilla,only had her a week
« on: March 06, 2012, 08:03:28 AM »

I was just giving two chinchillas and the female is pregnant.This is my first time with chinchillas let alone a pregnant one,Ive been reading every day to know what to expect but now I'm more confused then when I new nothing about breeding.There is so much conflicting info out there if any one can help i would really appreciate it my only concern is for mama and babies.Should dad stay in the cage,heating pad or no?should I hold or pet the babies the first week or no?if there having problems nursing what should I give them?thank you for the help.

chinclub

• Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 66
    • View Profile
    • Lowcountry Chinchillas
Re: pregnant chinchilla,only had her a week
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2012, 03:43:51 PM »

No heating pad and yes you can hold the babies the first week but no more than a minute or two at a time at that age.  What is the cage like?  (size, height, cage wire openings)

As for Dad, I have done it both ways.  If you leave him in you need to put something small and hard in the cage for the baby to hide in.  Otherwise he will be trampled to death as the parents try to mate again.  Mark your calendar.  If mom has another baby around 111 days after the first you will need to separate them then to give her a rest.  Some females can keep the males away themselves and naturally space out their births.

You will need to watch for fighting.  Rarely a female will beat up a male if he won't give up and insists on breeding back.

Lowcountry Chinchillas

Walterboro, South Carolina

marchevie123

• View Profile