Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: did lost chinchills have her babies!  (Read 4886 times)

marchevie123

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
did lost chinchills have her babies!
« on: March 01, 2012, 07:26:28 PM »

my chinchilla was lost for two days,now I don't know if she had her babies.

GrayRodent

• Chinchilla Club and CBO Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 153
  • # of Chins: 2
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
Re: did lost chinchills have her babies!
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2012, 08:09:16 PM »

Do you know when she conceived? Gestation is about 111 days for a chin.
Also listen for noises in the vent if you're not sure. Listen everywhere in the house again. Chinchilla babies are generally noisy.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2012, 08:18:31 PM by GrayRodent »
I'm a programmer not a chinchilla breeder. I learn by asking questions just like you.

marchevie123

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2012, 08:19:40 PM »

shes the one lost in the vent,i don't know how far along she was,I only know she was pregnant cause her nipples were long I read that was a sign,since I just got her i didn't hold her alot to know how big her stomach was,I know with kittens you can tell if they've been nursing cause the fur will b wet and pulled out around the nipples,but I don't know how to tell with chinchillas,so now I don't know if I should keep her in her cage or let her out,if she had the babies i have to let her out to go back to them don't I

GrayRodent

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • Chris Hamilton
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2012, 08:24:35 PM »

No don't let her out. There are plenty of things that can kill her outside of the cage very easily. It is true that signs of nursing for chins include missing hair. The nipples will usually protrude beyond the fur line come birth time.