Poll

Two male and 2 female chin problems...please read

please help
- 0 (0%)
unsure what options are
- 0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 2 pair of chins..need help...please respond even if its criticism  (Read 3955 times)

sekatsimon333

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile

I have two male and two female chins. the two males and one female were happy together and i got another female in hopes of starting to breed. i have read tons of stuff on the topic but i am still a beginner. i have come to understand my chins emotions and it seems that both males like the new female but she only likes the standard not the beige. the other female is brown velvet and wants to attack the new female in the worst way. the beige male seems depressed that the new female doesnt like him and wont bother with the other female. if you can make any sense of this any have advice or need to know more from me please let me know. thanks in advance....steve

chinclub

• Site Owner
  • Administrator
  • Appreciation points: 66
    • View Profile
    • Lowcountry Chinchillas
Re: 2 pair of chins..need help...please respond even if its criticism
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2010, 05:37:21 AM »

So you are trying to place all 4 in the same cage?  Bad idea.  Females are dominate so your original female will fight the new girl and will try to kill her if she can.  Your males will fight each other for either female that comes into heat which is probably why one of your males now seems depressed.  In that set-up one of your chinchillas will most likely be fatally injured eventually.  Not to mention the problems when a baby is born. A whole other set of issues! 

I would suggest housing them in pairs instead.  Place the new female in the cage with the male she seems to get along with and leave the other pair together in a different cage.  Also, you might want to read up on how to safely introduce chinchillas.  :)

Lowcountry Chinchillas

Walterboro, South Carolina