Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Blind chinchilla  (Read 14108 times)

Abby W.

• Appreciation points: 6
    • View Profile
    • Virginia Chinchillas
Blind chinchilla
« on: August 10, 2008, 06:03:20 PM »

I recently had a kit born whose eyes did not develop properly and he is blind.  I am unsure of how this will affect his life.  So far he is nursing, gaining weight, and is moderately active, but not nearly as much as his two sisters.  They were twice his size at birth...so I am thinking this may be a case of superfoetation...this would mean he is essentially premature.  He doesn't seem to be in any pain at this point.  But his eyes have turned white.

My quandary is to decide whether or not to have him put down.  I have no experience with blindness in chinchillas, so I don't know how this might affect his quality of life.  All of my adult cages are multi-level, so I guess he would have to live in the one-level maternity cage.  But, chins have poor eyesight to begin with, so maybe it wouldn't be so debilitating for him....

Has anyone here had experience with blind chinchillas?  If so, do you feel they can live a decently normal life with this handicap?  I don't want him to be miserable for his whole life.... 

Jenova

• Cheech ^_^
    • View Profile
Re: Blind chinchilla
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 12:30:08 PM »

I don't have any experience with blind chinchillas but I would say the one level cage is a must, make sure you don't move anything around in it.
This is from the Other Pets section, maybe it will be of some help.

http://www.chinchillaclub.com/forum/index.php/topic,1532.0.html