Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Added new chin, now old chin is acting a bit strange?  (Read 1069 times)

Elvisthechinchillasmom

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Added new chin, now old chin is acting a bit strange?
« on: October 21, 2011, 08:03:09 AM »

Good morning! I'm a newbie here with a question. I'm not new to chinchilla's, but I'm new to having more than one chinchilla. I've had my guy, Elvis, for about 3 months, and recently came across free baby chins. I've got two cages, so I put the new guy in my old cage, and sat it next to Elvis for about a week. I introduced them for the first time, and it didn't go so well. So we waited a bit, and did another one. Both were done in my bathroom. Second one went decent, and there wasn't any noise making, or nipping. So I put our new guy in with Elvis. First couple days seemed to go well.(Also something that might be of information is that our new little guy is a baby. I'm guessing him to be around 4 or 5 months old. Elvis, i think is about a year.) Now I've noticed some weird behavior from Elvis. He has always from day one slept in his pigloo. Not outside it, or on top, or anywhere but his pigloo. He's been sleeping now outside of it, on top of it, and beside the wall of the cage. He won't take his cherios, and did eat a small grape last night. My husband said he did see him eating and drinking, but just seems to be maybe upset that the little guy has taken his space. They don't fight, but sometimes the little guy will nip at Elvis, and I just don't know what to do. Do I keep them in different cages? Does it sound like Elvis is upset that his space is being taken by another chin? I Thought maybe a vet visit was needed, but he's still eating and drinking. Had them out this morning for a run, and he didn't do much, but wasn't just laying around either. I'm jus