Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Keeping chinchillas without a cage?  (Read 4840 times)

wmd

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
Keeping chinchillas without a cage?
« on: February 25, 2010, 08:12:54 AM »

Hello! I'm new to chinchilla forums and this is my first post.  ::nod::

I don't actually own any chins but have wanted to for years; my parents don't like pets and would never allow me to keep them at their house.

However at last I have my own place and I'm looking to adopt a pair of chins.

Only problem is that I'm living in a shared house and would have to keep them in my bedroom.

There is no room for a large cage, so I was wondering if it would be possible for me to-

- Keep chins in a small(ish) cage and try to to give them as much time out and about the house as possible.

OR

- Keep chins living free in my bedroom, giving them a space on top of a wardrobe as a bed.

I think I might be being a bit unrealistic, I'm guessing that chins will chew wires and make a general mess if left alone in a room?
Or is there a way to chinchilla-proof a room?  ::think::

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, even if it is to say that its all a bad idea and I should wait till I get a new house with more space.

Will

Debbie.nl.ca

• Breeder
  • Appreciation points: 30
    • View Profile
    • Debbie's Newfoundland Chinchillas
Re: Keeping chinchillas without a cage?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2010, 11:02:15 AM »

A closet maybe, a whole room!!!! It would have to be empty or the furniture made of steel  ;)
Yes they will chew anything & everything, and will climb, jump, ricochet into things & places unsafe.If you had a small room with nothing in it, not even a baseboard, you might be OK. But they still need a safe haven, houses & places to hide & sleep in. Then what if someone opened the door   ::scaredspeachless::