Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: I need help!!  (Read 2431 times)

SaraK

• Duh duh duh duh! IndieChin!
  • Appreciation points: 0
  • Let the adventures of IndieChin begin!
    • View Profile
I need help!!
« on: July 23, 2009, 12:10:21 PM »

I have a chinchilla with a really unusual color (at least to me) and I can't figure out exactly what it is. His name is Indiana Jones (Indie Chin), he was born a few months ago to two standard grey pet store chinchilla's. His two litter mates were both standard grey, but he came out a different color. What I am thinking is Homo beige but can anyone give me a second opinon? He is tan-ish but his belly is white/grey under fur. The video link is a video I made of him playing on my bed for my friend to see. Also, I am new to owning a chin, can you give me some basic tips? I want a perfectly healthy well-raised chinchilla.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=B0XoaXaaOVU

Jo Ann

• Global Moderator
  • Appreciation points: 59
  • Chinchillas are a little bit of heaven on earth.
    • View Profile
    • Luv 'N Chins
Re: I need help!!
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2009, 07:27:10 AM »

::silly::   Cute video!  Shows how they like to explore their surroundings.   ::nod::

It definitely looks like a beige chinchilla.  Was he born in the pet store?  Are you sure both parents were standard grays?  The gestation period for chinchilla kits is about 111 days ... almost 4 months.  Could the momma have been around a beige chinchilla about 4 months ago?

It is very unusual (but not impossible) for two standard gray chinchillas to deliver a beige kit, especially one that light. 

Homo beige kits are usually born to a beige and a white (white mosaic or a pink white).