Chinchillas.org

Chinchilla Community Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HELP!! Brand New to Chinchillias in Louisiana!!  (Read 2113 times)

smokeybandit

• Appreciation points: 0
    • View Profile
HELP!! Brand New to Chinchillias in Louisiana!!
« on: January 09, 2009, 06:12:06 PM »

Hello! Hello! I am brand new to the world of Chinchillas. And although it is extremely exciting, it is also extremely scary. Monday, my boyfriend and I bought two male chinchillas at the pet store and brought them home. As instructed, we let them be.

They didn't seem too jumpy in the store, but of course in their new environment they are all over the place. It's been four to five days now and they are still pretty jumpy. Every time I open their cage they both run. They come back out, out of curiousity. When I'm changing water or food Smokey (he's the calm gentle one) will sniff and either crawl on my arm. Bandit (he's real jumpy) will come up to me on the other side of the cage.

What can I do?? HELP! I know at first they need time to adjust, but they're just so jumpy. And I don't want to just leave them alone cause I know they're social animals.

PLEASE HELP!!!

Abby W.

• Appreciation points: 6
    • View Profile
    • Virginia Chinchillas
Re: HELP!! Brand New to Chinchillias in Louisiana!!
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2009, 09:07:08 PM »